Wednesday, 28 September 2016

The Primrose Path by Rebecca Griffiths

With thanks to Rebecca Griffiths and Sphere, I received a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.........

Somebody's watching her. And they know she's alone..........

When Sarah D'Villez was nineteen, she was kidnapped and held hostage for eleven days but escaped her abductor.  The case became infamous with Sarah's face splashed across the front of every newspaper in the country.

Now, seventeen years later, that man is about to be released from prison. Fearful of the media storm that is sure to follow, Sarah (or Rachel as she's now known as) decides to disappear to rural Wales under a new identity, telling nobody where she's gone.

Settling into the small community she is now part of, Sarah soon realises that someone is watching her and this someone seems to know everything about her.............

I really, really enjoyed The Primrose Path and even though it started off well with a shocking first few pages but for me it slowed down for a little but this didn't withdraw my attention and I was gripped throughout and as I'm writing this review I think that this was Rebecca's plan to keep the reader on their toes.  There is quite a lot going on in this book with the plot lines all coming together as the story proceeds a bit like the way the layers are peeled away on an onion with secrets, lies and the twist that I didn't see coming.  The characters were well written and I didn't know who to trust either as I was reading it, some of them were creepy in their own way.  The descriptions of the countryside of Wales was spot on, seeing as I spent a bit of time in Wales as a kid I could feel that I was there at times looking out on the surrounding landscape.

This is Rebecca's debut novel and is available on Kindle and from all good bookstores and is currently £3.99 on Kindle at the time of publication of this review so grab it while you can, you won't be disappointed so don't say I never told you so.  The Primrose Path would be perfect for fans of I Let You Go and Apple Tree Yard.  I am looking forward to reading the next novel from Rebecca but no pressure.

No comments :

Post a Comment